7.17 Constitution of Tamil Nadu State Employment Guarantee Council

Rural Development & Panchayat Raj (CGS - I) Department

G.O.Ms.No.117

Dated: 14.9.2006

Read :

- 1. G.O.Ms.No.89, Rural Development & Panchayat Raj (CGS I) Department, Dated 2.8.2006.
- Director of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj, Letters No.87877/ 2005-3/ SGRY-III dated 14.11.2005 and 29.11.2005
- Director of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Letter No.114722/2005/SGRY-4 dated 4.1.2006 and 19.1.2006.

ORDER

Consequent upon the notification of the National Rural Employment Guarantee Act 2005, with effect from 2.2.2006, the Tamil Nadu Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme under the Act are under implementation in the six districts viz., Cuddalore, Villupuram, Tiruvannamalai, Nagapattinam, Dindigul and Sivaganga.

2. Section 12 of National Rural Employment Guarantee Act, 2005 stipulates that:-

State Employment Guarantee Council

12.(1) For the purposes of regular monitoring and reviewing the implementation of this Act at the State Level, every State Government shall constitute a State Council to be known as the. (name of the State) State Employment Guarantee Council with a Chairperson and such number of official members as may be determined by the State Government and not more than fifteen non-official members nominated by the State Government from Panchayat Raj Institutions, organisations of workers and disadvantaged groups:

Provided that not less than one third of the non-official members nominated under this clause shall be women.

Provided further that not less than one – third of the non-official members shall be belonging to the Scheduled Castes, the Scheduled Tribes, the Other Backward Classes and Minorities.

2. The terms and conditions subject to which the Chairperson and members of the State Council may be appointed and the time, place and procedure of the meetings (including the quorum at such meetings) of the State Council shall be such as may be prescribed by the State Government.

3. In accordance to the provisions of the said Act, the Director of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj in his proposals second and third read above, has requested orders of the Government for constituting the Tamil Nadu State Employment Guarantee Council with a Chairman and officials and non-officials members of the Council.

4. Pursuant to the provisions of the said Act, the Government have examined the case in detail and decided to accept the proposal of the Director of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj. Accordingly the Government direct that the Tamil Nadu State Employment Guarantee Council is constituted with the following official and non-official members.

7. NREGS-TN

CHAIRMAN : MINISTER FOR RURAL DEVELOPMENT AND LOCAL ADMINISTRATION

I. OFFICIAL MEMBERS :

- Chief Secretary to Goverment. (During the absence of Chairman, he will function as Chairman of the Council)
- 2. Secretary to Government Rural Development & Panchayat Raj Department.
- 3. Secretary to Government, Finance Department
- 4. Secretary to Government, Planning, Development and Special Initiatives Department.
- 5. Secretary to Government , Revenue Department
- 6. Secretary to Government , Law Department
- 7. Secretary to Government, Public Works Department
- 8. Secretary to Government, Highways Department
- 9. Secretary to Government , Adi Dravidar & Tribal Welfare Department
- 10. Director of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj

- Convenor

II. NON OFFICIAL MEMBERS

(i) Members of Parliament (Two)

- (1) Thiru N.S.V. Chithan, Dindigul Constituency
- (2) Thiru A.K.S. Vijayan, Nagapattinam Constituency

(ii) Members of Legislative Assembly (Two)

- (3) Selvi K. Balabharathi Dindigul Constituency
- (4) Thiru. N. Sundaram, Karaikudi Constituency

(iii) District Panchayat Chairman (One)

(5 Tmt. Kalavathi Chandrabanu Nagapattinam

7. NREGS-TN

(iv) Panchayat Union Chairmen: (Two)

- (6) Thiru S. Anbazhagan, Thiruvannainallur Panchayat Union, Villupuram District
- (7) Thiru G. Kannan, Thiruvannamalai Panchayat Union. Tiruvannamalai District

(v) Village Panchayat Presidents (Six)

- (8) Thiru K. Suriya Prakasam Mangulam Village Panchayat , Mangalure, Cuddalore.
- (9) Tmt. Anandhanayagi, Pethasamuthiram Village Panchayat Chinnasalem, Villupuram.
- (10) Tmt. C.Lakshmi, Tharadaapattu, Thandrampet. Thiruvannamalai District
- (11) Thiru K.P. Panneerselvam Keerapalayam Village Panchayat, Cuddalore District.
- (12) Tmt. A. Arulmary, Kattenthal Sukkanoorani, Kalaiyarkoil, Sivagangai District.
- (13) Thiru J. Joseph Irudhayaraj Karisalpatti, Reddiarchatram, Dindigul District.

(vi) Organisations of workers and disadvantaged groups: (Two)

- (14) The Executive Director, DHAN Foundation, Madurai
- (15) The Secretary, Gandhigram Trust, Ambathurai, Dindigul District
- 5. The duties and functions of the State Council are as follows:-
- (a) advising the State Government on all matters concerning the Tamil Nadu Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme and its implementation in the State;
- (b) determining the preferred works;
- (c) reviewing the monitoring and redressal mechanisms from time to time and recommending improvements;
- (d) promoting the widest possible dissemination of information about this Act and the Tamil Nadu Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme under it;
- (e) monitoring the implementation of this Act and the Tamil Nadu Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme and coordinating such implementation with the Central Council;

- (f) preparing the annual report to be laid before the State Legislature by the State Government;
- (g) any other duty or function as may be assigned to it by the Central Council or the State Government.

6. The State Council shall have the power to undertake the evaluation of the Tamil Nadu Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme and for that purpose to collect or cause to be collected statistics pertaining to the rural economy and the implementation of the schemes and programmes in the State.

(By order of the Governor)

K. ASHOK VARDHAN SHETTY

SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT