#### **28. DEVOLUTION OF POWERS**

# 28.111 Constitution of High Level Committee for examining further devolution of powers to Rural and Urban Local Bodies under the Chairmanship of Thiru M.K. Stalin, Hon'ble Minister for RD&LA

Rural Development and Panchayat Raj (C1) Department.

G.O. (Ms) No. 6

Dated : 22.1.07 Read :

# From the Director of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj D.OLr.No: 74662/2006/PRI 1.4 dated.3.10.06

#### ORDER

The Hon'ble Minister for Rural Development and Local Administration has announced on the floor of the Legislative Assembly that an expert Committee will be constituted to examine the existing powers and responsibilities of the Rural and Urban Local Bodies and to give suitable recommendations for devolution of additional powers and functions. The Cabinet at its meeting held on 16.10.2006 has decided as follows:

"The Cabinet has decided to immediately constitute a High Level Committee, consisting of the representatives of local bodies officials and experts under the Chairmanship of the Minister for Local Administration. This Committee will deliberate on the delegation of necessary powers to enable better functioning of the local bodies and will make recommendations within three months to Government for implementation."

2. Pursuant to the announcement of the Hon'ble Minister, Rural Development and Local Administration and the decision of the cabinet and based on the proposal received from the Director of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj, the Government hereby direct the constitution of a High Level Committee, consisting of the following representatives of the Rural and Urban local bodies, Officials of Government Departments and experts. The Hon'ble Minister for Rural Development & Local Administration shall be the Chairman of the High Level Committee.

3. The Official members for the High Level committee are as follows:

1	Secretary, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Department	Member	
2	Secretary, Municipal Administration and Water Supply Department	Member	
3	Prof.Palanithurai, Gandhigram University	Experts on the Rural Development and Panchayat Raj	
4	Thiru.Tamizharuvimanian, Member, State Planning Commission	side	
5	Ms.Malathy,IAS, Secretary, Home Department	Experts on the Municipal Administration and	
6	Thiru.Jeyaraman, Additional Director of Municipal Administration(Retd)	Water Supply side	

#### **Official Members**

4. The following elected heads of Urban and Rural Local bodies shall be included as non-official members of the Committee:-

### I.Corporations (Mayors)

SI.No	Name	Corporation	Party
1.	Thiru.A.L.Subramanian	Tiruneliveli	DMK
2.	Tmt.Charubala Thondaiman.R	Trichy	Congress

# II.Municipalities (Chairpersons)

SI. No	Name	Municipality	Party
1	Thiru. Bharathi.R.S	Alanthur	DMK
2	Thiru.Ashoken Soloman .V.	Nagercoil	Congress
3	Thiru.M.R.Dhurai	Bhavani	AIADMK
4	Thiru.K.N.Sekar	Ambattur	PMK
5	Thiru.R.Jayaraman	Thiruvottiyur	CPI (M)
6	Thiru.T.Prabhakaran	Periyasemur	СРІ
7	Thiru.C.V.Rajagaigvat Babu.	Nellikuppam	Liberation Panther Party

# 28. DEVOLUTION OF POWERS

# III. Town Panchayats (Chairpersons)

SI.	Name	Town Panchayat	Party
No			
1	Thiru.S.Sairam	Myladi Agastheeswaram Taluk, Kanniyakumari District	DMK
2	Thiru.Neelakandan	Chetupattu, Tiruvannamalai District	Congress
3	Tmt.Vimala	Madapakkam, Kancheepuram District	AIADMK
4	Tmt.M.Manjula	Thesur, Tiruvannamalai District	РМК
5	Thiru.V.Ramamoorthy	Chinnavedampatti, Coimbatore District	C.P.I (M)
6	Thiru.P.Mounasamy	Kannampalayam, Coimbatore District	C.P.I
7	Thiru.R.Jayashelan	Unnamalai Kadai, Kanniyakumari District	BJP

# IV District Panchayats (Chairpersons)

SI. No	Name	District Panchayat	Party
1	Thiru.Gandhiselvan	Namakkal District	DMK
2	Thiru.Ravichandra ramavanni.A	Ramanathapuram District	Congress
3	Thiru.Chinnadurai.N	Tutticorin District	AIADMK

SI. No	Name	Panchayat Union	Party
1	Thiru.Ramalingam.S	Thiurvidaimarudur, Thanjavur District	DMK
2	Thiru.Krishnan.P.K.	Kamuthi, Ramanathapuram District	Congress
3	Tmt.R.D.Malarvizhi	Andipatti, Theni District	AIADMK
4	Thiru.S.P.Ramar	Nangavalli,Salem District	PMK
5	Thiru.V.Amirthalingam	Thalaignayiru, Nagapattinam District	C.P.I(M)
6	Thiru.K.Thangamani	Manamadurai, Sivagangai District	C.P.I
7	Thiru.S.Premkumar	Munsirai, Kanniyakumari District	BJP
8	Tmt.Selvi Chenguttuvan	Senthurai, Perambalur District	Liberation Panther Party

V.Panchayat Unions (Chairpersons)

VI. Village Panchayats (Presidents)

SI. No	Name	Village Panchayat	Party
1	Thiru.S.Santhanam	Thayilpatti, Vembakkottai, Virudhunagar District	DMK
2	Thiru.Sathyamoorthy	Vinnamangalam, Vaniyambadi Taluk. Vellore District	Congress
3	Thiru.K.Parasuraman	Nilagiri, Thanjavur District	AIADMK
4	Thiru.K.Marappan	Chettipalayam, Tirupur union, Coimbatore District	C.P.I(M)
5	Thiru.J.Jayaraman	Pallivarthy, Kolathur Union, Tiruvallur District	C.P.I
6	Thiru.N.Ilango	Nattarmangalam, Vallam Panchayat Union, Villupuram District	PMK

5. The Committee shall study the duties, functions and powers already entrusted to the Rural and Urban Local Bodies and make recommendations for further devolution of the same in order to make them more effective within a period of 3 months to Government.

(By order of the Governor)

#### **K.ASHOK VARDHAN SHETTY**

SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT